Weekly Photo Challenge: Anticipation

December 17, 2016 § 8 Comments

wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan1

When my son was a little guy each Christmas I made him a surprise ball – a collection of smallish gifties wrapped in strips of colored crepe paper that take some time to open. His dad and I had divorced and Aaron lived with him in California, New Jersey, then New York City. The surprise ball was a way for me to be there with him in spirit, sensing his anticipation. Now he’s got a little guy of his own and keeping with tradition, I – Nana Pierr – made one for Devin last year… wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan4

The dime store used to sell surprise balls for a quarter or 50 cents. They were small, about three inches in diameter, usually filled with two or three doll house miniatures made of plastic or tin. My sister and I decided to make our own with more elaborate prizes. In those days crepe paper came packaged in flat rolled sheets. We cut strips as skinny or wide as we liked. Crepe paper these days comes rolled, is pretty much one width and isn’t as tough. Stretched too taught results in a rip. You’re wise to have tape handy.

wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan5

My anticipation in making a surprise ball is wondering what final shape all the presents are going to make once bound together. It takes at least a couple hours so I think about the recipient and what they like while I’m wrapping. I have a pile of newspaper and recycled paper I can wad up into shapes to cover corners of a box or pad an area more in the direction of my vision. Stickers are easy to slip in now and then, and fun to discover.

wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan6

D’s gifts wanted to be rectangular all along, and since he’s totally into musical instruments…

wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan7wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan8wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan9wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan10wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan11

Ta-da! I don’t remember what the presents were, but I do remember he got tired unraveling and had his dad – the pro – finish up.

wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan2wpc-anticipation-pierrmorgan

Wishing you and yours a wonderful Holiday of anticipation.  xo Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Anticipation

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Photo Challenge: Anticipation at Pierr Morgan.

meta

