Novel Update: Week 58 – Starting Over

July 9, 2015 § 6 Comments

NovelDraftsPierrMorgan2015

So, now what?

entire novel storyboarded

entire novel storyboarded

Finished storyboarding the novel and have physically taken away half of the Post-it notes pictured here, because they are repeat scenes, or dull (don’t move the story forward), or now irrelevant given the radical changes that need to happen which I realized from the recent workshop experience.

A few weeks ago I was rarin’ to get to this point – the chopping and cutting to type up and read what was left. But now that I’m here the thrill is gone. The point of the novel is gone.

For a couple days I was pretty bummed about this. I tried to get back into a new draft in spite of my lack-luster feelings. “Just slow down,” I told myself. “One sentence at a time, no leaps or bounds, keep the reader right next to you from the beginning.” But how should it begin now?

Don’t know. It’s a new story. One I haven’t had on my mind for the last five, six, seven years. And this brings me to the point of my old story. I wrote the novel I set out to write. I did it. It had all the elements I’d wanted and raised all the conflicts I hoped for and in the end, all the loose ends got tied up into a satisfying ending…for me…and a few reader friends. Now I know what it takes, what my own process is.

TIP: “What we intend has a very high probability of actually occurring.” – Martha Beck

Have a great week.   xo – Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Novel Update: Week 58 – Starting Over

  • Good for you putting so much work into your manuscript–sounds like you might go back to your original version. If so, it was meant to be and will be all the stronger from what you’ve learned. I’ve done nothing with mine all summer, but it’s definitely weighing on me.

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Your trip was an important part of ‘getting away from it’ for a while, I’d say. It’ll still be there for you…I know. I literally put mine in a big box and put it in the closet. Yesterday I recycled a ream of paper from a couple stillborn drafts. That felt good. Thanks for the encouragement, Marcia. All the best with yours!

  • Patti Kuche says:

    Such a monumental effort Pierr – amazing isn’t it how the finished product always looks so effortless. All best wishes to you!

  • Catching up on my blogs, Pierr…omg, the work you/we put into our writing! Mind boggling. Know how story works is fascinating, and methinks all that work has enhanced your other work. It all plays together, eh?

    On another note, it was soooo fun to see you at the BIAM. What an impressive, cool, beautiful show and display. Molly and I both were enchanted. And you looked so pretty! Good to meet your son and family, too! All my love, Christi xo

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Thank you, Christi. So much. It’s true – it all works together. It was such a treat to see you and Molly. Thank you for the beautiful sweet peas! Love back to you, Pierr

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Novel Update: Week 58 – Starting Over at Pierr Morgan.

meta

