Novel Sidetrack – Week 34

January 15, 2015 § 6 Comments

On the ferry heading into Seattle to be Nana Pierr.

SidetrackWk34PierrMorgan2

I’m writing a brand new chapter to flesh out a sequence of events near the end. I’m out of practice writing from scratch. Been revising for so long it hits me what a different process it is.

SidetrackWk34PierrMorgan1

Distracted, I draw the morning.

SidetrackWk34PierrMorgan

There’s big change going on at the Kids’ place. Boxes of books and stuff lining the hallway as if they’re moving. Where is it all coming from?

life-changing-magic-of-tidying-upMarieKondo

A book. K’s got a sparkle in her eye. Doesn’t even tell me the title, just “Does it spark joy?” Now, those who know me well, know how I practically salivate at the word ‘organize.’ I’m in heaven rearranging and sorting and tossing, solving my world’s problems. She emails the cover.

I want this book NOW.

I check out the library…#57 on a wait list for 7 copies circulating in Kitsap county = a good month. Go to the bookstore…sold out…and all their distributors around the country…sold out. I order three copies and do deep breathing. Just as well, right? I can’t have any distraction going on in my life. I’m finishing a novel.

SidetrackWk34PierrMorgan4

Week later: In line for the ferry home again, I’m smiling because this little book is definitely life-changing. Takes all organizing methods I’ve ever known and loved to a whole other level: MAGIC.

coming home - Seattle Big Wheel - Pier 57

Seattle Big Wheel

TIP: Get it. Read it. Do it.    xo Pierr

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Novel Sidetrack – Week 34

  • I was #98 on our library waitlist. Had to go the Kindle route. My socks are on vacation already!

    • pierrmorgan says:

      You’re an inspiration!! For years and years I abused my poor socks…rolling them into balls. I had no idea. I get happy just seeing them in their basket looking like cinnamon buns. Joy on!

  • Patti Kuche says:

    Certainly curious about life-changing organising and hope there is more than a chapter devoted to coping with other people’s . . . stuff 😦

    Keep on with your book Pierr, not long to go I hope! 🙂

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Unfortunately we have to let other people’s stuff be…that’s theirs…I recommend breathing and creating a mini-shrine of your own joyful things to touch and/or travel with you wherever you have to be. Ms. Kondo does share wisdoms on the topic, but ultimately you need to create your own space that’s yours, no matter how small.

      The book moves on now, very very close. Thanks for the cheer, Patti!

  • Loved the ferry ride and sketch…and what fun to have such a book gem. Press on, Nana!

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Thank you, Christi. It was fun to find myself sketching. Haven’t done any in a while. And I got a flash for how to get into that chapter a couple days later and typed it up yesterday!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Novel Sidetrack – Week 34 at Pierr Morgan.

meta

