Novel Week 26 – Eagle Vision

November 17, 2014 § 6 Comments

A pair of them calling and careening through the ravine this morning! One flew on, the other rested near the clock at the police station.

NovelEagleVisionWeek26PierrMorgan

This was a lucky shot through the window glass, handheld at 5x zoom. Although the area happens to be this Eagle’s turf, I like to think the raptor came to give me a message about my novel progress. “It’s a sign!”  Anything can be a sign to me.

I’ve been Pierrsevering here, going over and over these first fifty pages, arranging and rearranging, testing out combinations to get the clearest and most fun (it’s supposed to be humor, remember) mix of ingredients. There’s still one section that trips me up. Since the Eagle’s visit, I know what it is.

I have a subplot going which I know a lot about from another life (forty years ago is, in fact, another lifetime). I’ve given my protagonist all my knowledge of it, so it should be a piece of cake to weave into her world. Truth? It’s the hardest dang thing I’ve ever tried to do and today, flying over the top of these pages, I see how intensely involved I was in this activity without being in love with it. I’ve been trying to make the love come across in my character without feeling it myself.

Maybe there’s nothing wrong with that. My protagonist can love it or not and it can be interesting and fun to flesh out, see what she does because of that. It’s just at the moment, I’m a little stunned to realize forty years ago I was so determined that I persisted at something that was finally, in the end, a relief to give up.

NovelEagleVisionWeek26PierrMorganb

TIP: Let her fly!  – xo Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Novel Week 26 – Eagle Vision

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Novel Week 26 – Eagle Vision at Pierr Morgan.

meta

