Novel’s First 10K – Week 15

September 10, 2014 § 2 Comments

First 10,000 words of the novel - near 50 pages

First 10,000 words of the novel – near 50 pages

I’m addicted to noodling the beginning. I love it so much. I’ve read it zillions of times and each read through I’ll nip a noun, clip a conjunction and completely space on the fact that I’ve got 200 more pages that need my attention.

Yesterday I sent the first 10,000 words away for an evaluation from namelos.

The previous week’s Take-Out was extremely helpful in carving text away to include everything I wanted to be in the first 10k (around 50 pages). I read somewhere, probably online (from stats publishers are able to gather from e-book reading?), that when a reader abandons a book it’s within the first 50 pages. That’s very generous. I’m out by the end of page 1. 

I’ve clipped the rest of the novel into 50-page sections and am going through them one by one until this draft puppy is done!

TIP: Got clips?   xo Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Novel’s First 10K – Week 15

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Novel’s First 10K – Week 15 at Pierr Morgan.

meta

