Novel Take-Out – Week 14

September 2, 2014 § 2 Comments

I like Romantic Comedy when it comes to film. When I hit on a favorite I’ll watch it a bazillion times. Been doing this for years and years. Only recently did I realize why exactly. I want to know how in the heck did they write such a good story?

NovelTakeOutPierrMorgan

My teen novel falls under humor, which is serious business. I can get carried away in the emotional aspect of a scene and pretty quickly void it of humor, or perform an “info-dump” where my quirky protagonist shovels tedious details at the reader (boring them), not funny at all, sounding suspiciously like the author.

This week I’ve been filling in the novel with scenes I think/thought necessary. Today I’m thinking no, the fill-ins are from the 2009 version.  This version – this draft, right now in September of 2014 – is a different book. Not so crowded. It’s possible I don’t need these scenes anymore.

DVD’s are great for watching while listening to the commentary. Here’s where the director, producer, writer, actors talk about what really went on behind the making of the film. I take notes:

Nancy Meyers comments on the writing of her 2003 romantic comedy, “Something’s Gotta Give” – “Sometimes you don’t know you over tell your story. You take things away and it’s still there . . . It’s a little scary taking scenes out because you worry it won’t make sense.”

TIP: Take it out! It’s really true what Nancy says.   xo Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Novel Take-Out – Week 14

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Novel Take-Out – Week 14 at Pierr Morgan.

meta

