Travels With Novel – Week 7

July 17, 2014 § 4 Comments

My desert writing getaway was glorious.

early morning - up with doves and quail

early morning – up with doves, quail, songbirds

Filled the feeders daily…

old old Saguaro

old old Saguaro

with Gila Woodpecker on top

with Gila Woodpecker on top

Sat out under the terra cotta umbrella reading and revising novel chapters till temp hit 90 (usually by 9 am)

NovelTucsonJuly7

At which time I moved indoors, up a story, with another amazing view…

looking NW to the Rincon Mountains

looking NW to the Rincon Mountains

My goal this trip was to read through the entire novel again from page 1, making changes on the pages. I brought pens and pencils and Post-It tags. The blue and green tags = tweaks & cuts. The yellow & purple tags = tracking 2 main plot elements. Orange & hot pink tags = major changes needed…meaning, gonna-have-to-slow-way-down-to-figure-these-out.

blue & green tags = tweaks & cuts; yellow & purple = tracking 2 plot points; orange & hot pink = needs major work

blue & green tags = tweaks & cuts; yellow & purple = tracking 2 plot points; orange & hot pink = needs major work

Later in the day the brain shut down and nothing but a dip in the pool and siesta would revive it. (I never actually wrote by the pool on a towel – this chapter was styled like this to impress you.)

1 revised chapter - whole sections rewritten on graph paper

1 revised chapter – whole sections rewritten on graph paper

Now I’m back home in the NW where temps have been pretty impressive. I’ve attempted to recreate the desert on my deck. It’s not the same, of course, but I’m still in a daily rhythm with the novel, now typing into the computer all the changes I made while away from electronics, creating what will be draft #3 once I print it out. I have at least two more to go, won’t be surprised at a 6th & 7th.

TIP: Write something you like to read…over and over and over and over and…

home again in the NW

home again in the NW on my deck

xo Pierr

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Travels With Novel – Week 7

  • I’m looking forward to reading this book some day! Lovely photos, lovely place.

  • Jan and Brian says:

    It has been up to 107 degrees here in Yakima. Staying indoors most of the time. I don’t know how you can think if it was that hot in Arizona. I am impressed.
    Jan

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Hi Jan! Wow – didn’t make it to 107 the time I was in Tucson. 105…but those big ceiling fans and air conditioning (and the pool!) are wonderful. It’s now monsoon season, too. So we had a few nice rains that cooled the air somewhat. Still, I do like that dry heat. Hope you have a wading pool close by!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Travels With Novel – Week 7 at Pierr Morgan.

meta

