Dodging Fear – Week 2

June 11, 2014 § 2 Comments

scared bunny in full camo -  ready to run

Scared bunny – in full camo – ready to run

Nothing to fear but fear itself, right? Yesterday I spent “very involved” in something else completely and didn’t even look at the novel revision project. First day I’ve done that since March (when I had 5 days of blocked panic, looking like bunny above, unable to move). But I’m not blocked. Just scared. I’ve been summoned for Jury Duty and this morning, I broke a rib. Ha! Guess what you can still do with a broken rib? Write.

So I made a list of my fears. Only one had to do with the novel. All the rest were ‘what if’s’ based on outside forces in the future which I have no control over.

TIP: The present moment is where it’s at.

I’m now into a case of one step forward and four or five steps back, which doesn’t surprise me, it’s just slow going. When you tweak something ahead, you have to go back and make sure everything leading up to the tweak is still true, all details match, make sense. This part has me confused a lot. When I can’t think at all, I stop and reread from page 1 – out loud, to myself…tagging page edges with note-t0-self on pale yellow stick-its (YAY office supplies).

yellow = like; fuchsia = needs work; green = yes it needs intense focus so keep going!!

Yellow = love it; Fuchsia = stay in chair; Green = yes you really need to focus so keep going!!

Here’s the first 100 pages of revision of this next draft. I’m typing it up in Scriveners so it’ll be easy to ‘compile’ and send off somewhere eventually through cyberspace (and it has this really cool virtual cork board with life-like index cards and push-pins = JOY).

My color psychology is this: Yellow is a given for every chapter – I know in my bones that eventually I’ll love them all – so I give every chapter a yellow tag right away; Fuchsia & Green tags are actually on the same chapters for notice and encouragement – Fuchsia means Fix-it! Green means Go! and together they mean “Keep going! You’re doing it!” My goal is to show you a notebook full of nothing but yellow tags. So see?–I’m being realistic and positive about the whole thing. Plus I love the act of pulling away one of those tags.

PeterResting

TIP: Remember to breathe.        xo Pierr

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Dodging Fear – Week 2

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dodging Fear – Week 2 at Pierr Morgan.

meta

