Pottery Ta-Da!

August 18, 2013 § 6 Comments

Out of the kiln flew the bird and the butterflies today…

BirdPlate1BirdPlate2PansyPitcher1PansyPitcher2

Im very pleased with the dinner plate. And yahoo for the black glaze on the pitcher! I’m happy I put on four coats. The pansies are a bit lost…I should have outlined the petals, leaves and butterfly wings with a thin black line, but I was banking on the contrast of the fired colors themselves to pop and dazzle. Ah well. Nice curly-q butterfly feelers, though, eh? Love that etching tool. I have a new appreciation for ANY kind of decorated earthenware.

Thanks for the fun, Bainbridge HeArt & Soul – and BIMA too, for the invitation to participate.     – Pierr

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Pottery Ta-Da!

  • christiok says:

    They are both exquisite, Pierr. I took a Pottery class in college (1977) and loved it 🙂 and know what you mean about how tricky firing glazes is. I am so impressed that this is a first or near first for you! Earthen Vessels.

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Thank you, Christi! In fifth grade I got to take a summer school art class at the UW. I made a thick slab clay house and was hopeful about the pink & orange glazes I’d used to decorate it. Alas, I did not understand that the orange glaze would fire white. ‘No one told me’ – I got the idea I was just supposed to know, to be ‘a real artist.’ So I made sure I asked lots of questions this time. Still, there were many surprises. Love it, “Earthen Vessels”. Mysteries and magic thereof. Here’s to the wedding – and your vessels of jam!!

  • Lynn says:

    Bet you want to do more. That plate is incredible. And yes you nailed it on the black glaze.
    We’re here in CA.. Just got back to M & D’s from doing the Acorrdion Festival in Catoti. Very fun event. Rick had a blast and I had another great show. I’m going to have to pinch myself soon. We’ll be home after the 6th………Love… Lynn

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Yahoo for your show! And, as it turns out, I’m making another birdie plate. Something mysterious about this one’s glaze/emboss effect to understand by seeing how a second one turns out. xo Pierr

  • These are exquisite, friend! Craft and art. Have fun with the new.
    Caroleenin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pottery Ta-Da! at Pierr Morgan.

meta

