From Post Cards to Pottery

August 13, 2013 § 4 Comments

No, I didn’t disapPierr off the face of the blogging earth, just got sidetracked from my Post Card project. Was asked, along with several other artists, to paint some pottery for an auction to benefit BIMA (Bainbridge Island Museum of Art). Sounded way too fun to pass up… memories of decorating paper plates with a box of 64 Crayola crayons.

Bainbridge Heart & Soul : Art as Therapy Studio on Bainbridge Island provided everything, even tips for us newbie never-done-it-before artists. I found it extremely relaxing and fun to be there with others coming in and out and their great music playing. I found myself going to work on my pieces sometimes twice a day.

Having never done it before I made a couple color sketch plans with colored pencils and then used the color chart provided to make a key for myself to keep track of the glazes.

square dinner plate design sketch - berries and leaves in three corners

square dinner plate design sketch – berries and leaves in three corners

Here’s my sketch of the square dinner plate design (on gray paper). And below is my pansy pitcher design. At first I thought I’d do a pansy plate to match the pitcher but decided on the bird above with a white background instead. So the pitcher – hopefully – will have a very solid black background.

pansy pitcher design sketch

pansy pitcher design sketch – with glaze color key

The glaze colors look and feel completely different when dry – like pale sidewalk chalk. See the painted rim at the top? That will actually fire to look like “SC-85 ORKID” in the chart above.

PierrMorganPansyPitcher2

glazes and palette

glazes and palette

I applied four coats of “Tuxedo Black” to the pansy pitcher. This took me some time. It is possible to paint the background first then apply colors over it, but I didn’t want to take my chances of the black showing through the lighter colors from my inexperience, so I painted around the pansies and five butterflies and the green vine around the handle…and those ORKID dots inside and outside the handle that I just couldn’t help myself from adding at the last minute.

Coming out of the kiln this Saturday I’m told. Can’t wait to see how they look! The auction – “Art of the Table” – takes place on Sunday, September 15. Call BIMA for more info: 206-842-4451.

pansy pitcher design - for the Bainbridge Island Museum of Art "Art of the Table" auction

pansy pitcher for Bainbridge Island Museum of Art “Art of the Table” auction, Sept 15

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to From Post Cards to Pottery

  • This past month, it has been a wonderful experience meeting and interacting with Pierr, and the many other talented artists coming in and out of HeArt & Soul: Art as Therapy Studio. Each artist has given his/her own flavor to a variety of dinnerware related pieces, transforming pale, white bisque forms into lively, vibrant works of art. These pieces are being submitted to the Bainbridge Art Museum’s “Art of the Table” fundraiser being held in September. We feel fortunate to have the opportunity to participate and donate to the growth of BIMA, as it holds so much beauty, and inspiration for our island community. Blessings!

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Thank you so much for commenting and filling in the details, Lori! Your studio provides such a great venue for the creative spirit. Soul food, really. Blessings back to you.

  • Pierr, this is so incredibly cool! I’m going on vacation but when I get back remind me that I want to link to this for my readers to see. They’ll love it. You’re so talented and clever.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From Post Cards to Pottery at Pierr Morgan.

meta

