Got Writing Buddy?

July 18, 2013 § 2 Comments

We’re halfway and some days through July’s Camp NaNoWriMo and at this point (and every point) along the way, it’s great to have a writing buddy. Often, that’s my desk. A child’s roll top I found some years ago at an antique shop in La Conner, Washington.

NaNoDesk

All the things on the desk top and in little shelves and nooks are like buddies too. Other times a place away from your living post can be like a buddy. Here’s one I like a lot:

AnchorBooks

Anchor Books & Coffee in Clinton, Washington – just up highway 525 from the Clinton ferry dock. Its expanse of used books keeps growing and its atmosphere always cozy and friendly.

...from where I sit...

…from where I sit…

But do you have a real live writing buddy? Someone who inspires you to keep going just by showing up? Someone who will give you ‘four words’ to weave into the next page of writing when you’re stuck? Someone you can give just a vague, general smidgeon of a character problem and vwoom! the two of you are riding a brainstorm of plot and scene never before imagined? I do.

from foreground to back: my novel in progress, remains of a cinnamon pull-apart and cinnamon orange tea, some coffee chai tea special concoction, and - my Writing Buddy

from foreground to back: my novel in progress, remains of a cinnamon pull-apart and cinnamon orange tea, some coffee chai tea special concoction and – my Whidbey Island Writing Buddy

We met online during the November 2010 NaNoWriMo event. Both living on Whidbey Island. There weren’t a lot of writers doing NaNo that were leaving messages, a small number in Oak Harbor, and my writing buddy in Clinton – but for me, living in the middle (Whidbey is 52 miles long), it was just as easy to go north as to go south for some “write-ins.”  We’ve been meeting ever since.

And now, living on Bainbridge Island, I have another actual Writing Buddy…

Here's my Bainbridge Island Writing Buddy. We usually meet once a week - at the crack of dawn - because she's on the move till dusk.

my Bainbridge Island Writing Buddy – always a challenge to catch her in focus

We usually meet once a week – at the crack of dawn – because she’s on the move till dusk. Got Writing Buddy? Hope so. Keep going! You’re doing great.  – Pierr

(Camp NaNo count as of July 31 – 3:45 pm = 42,505 words)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Got Writing Buddy?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Got Writing Buddy? at Pierr Morgan.

meta

