Gone to Camp NaNoWriMo

July 7, 2013 § 2 Comments

2013-Participant-Campfire-Circle-BadgeOnce again I’ve joined writer enthusiasts around the world in this month’s word hunt (no snipes here) called Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), the second this year. I’m in a virtual cabin with eight campers my age, each with his or her own genre interest and word count goal. That’s the big difference between Camp and the November event; Camp you get to design your madness. The November NaNoWriMo is 50K or bust, all fiction.

I’m not keen on sharing much about my project before it’s all baked, but I’ll tell you it’s the same novel I’ve been writing since 2007, a humorous YA, 14-year-old girl narrator. I’m into a third draft of revision and taking July’s Camp NaNo to write 50,000 words of vignettes–more scenes with the characters, especially the secondary and thirdiary ones, to get to know them better. August 1st, my plan is to read through the pile and select interesting usable scenes, weave those into the revision and see what it reads like then…& repeat. Because a NaNoWriMo is really about word count, getting it down, a wild romp through the mind, and half of it usually – for me, anyway – is for scissors.

PierrMorganCampNaNoWriMoScissors

Good luck fellow NaNoCampers!  – Pierr

(As of July 31 – 3:45 pm – my word count = 42,505)

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Gone to Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gone to Camp NaNoWriMo at Pierr Morgan.

meta

