Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

May 25, 2013 § 4 Comments

Inside The Bean - Chicago 2010

Inside Anish Kapoor’s “Cloud Gate” – The Bean – Chicago 2010

My dear friend Amy and I took the train into downtown Chicago for the day. It was cold. I’d never experienced Chicago Cold. Comes with wind and a chill factor. Here we are, frozen inside Anish Kapoor’s amazing sculpture, “Cloud Gate.” NicknamedĀ The Bean.

It seems to freeze everything in the background right up front. Even the earth as snow pattern on its surface, giving a visceral visual literal experience of how small the world really is. How minuscule a problem I’ve made too huge to grasp, or shrunken perspective I might harbor about something in my life, it takes all of that and stretches it out together, showing what’s really important.

What I mean to say is, even though Amy lives way over there in Chicago and I rarely see her – she’s someone in the background of my life – she is always right here before me in my world. One I can circle in under a minute.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background at Pierr Morgan.

meta

