15 + + + Minutes of Fame

April 28, 2013 § 6 Comments

Walking the steps to the front door I heard whispers, “Is that Pierr Morgan? I think that’s her. No, that’s not – It’s her!  It’s Pierr Morgan. Look! She’s going in.” Then inside, “We just saw Pierr Morgan!” Wow. What a welcome – then, as if I had any doubts, signs all over the school, this huge one suspended from the front entry ceiling.

Whitson Elementary 4th graders traced and decorated their hands to welcome me.

Whitson Elementary 4th graders traced and decorated their hands to welcome me.

I’ve been doing school visits around the country, bringing my show-and-tell life to students on how I became an illustrator of picture books, since 1989. I’ve had way more than my allotted Andy Warholian 15 minutes of fame. Each visit is usually all day, presenting to up to five times, 45 minutes to an hour each, these days in smaller groups of 100 students at a time in a cozy library setting.

Whitson Elementary, in White Salmon, Washington, is the first school I’ve been to more than twice. I visited 15 years ago, then 10, and was thrilled to get an email this February from Pam Garrett again! – Librarian Extraordinaire & Winner of the 2006 Washington State Golden Apple Award. (Click  HERE  to see the YouTube video KCTS9 made especially of Pam and the book world she’s created in White Salmon.)

What an honor to be at Whitson and so welcomed by the staff and students all over again. And Jenny, owner of the stellar local independent, Waucoma Bookstore, in Hood River, provided books for sale at the school. THANKYOU !!! for a wonderful day I will always remember.  xo Pierr

I bring original art and poetry from my school age years to storyboards and book dummies and sketchbooks to show-and-tell how I came to illustrate children's books. The second portion of each presentation is always reserved for students to draw and write something of their own.

I bring original art and poetry from my school age years to storyboards and book dummies and sketchbooks to show-and-tell how I came to illustrate children’s books. The second portion of each presentation is always reserved for students to draw and write something of their own.

Only a quarter of Pam Garrett's fabulous library at Whitson Elementary in White Salmon, WA.

Only a peek at Pam Garrett’s fabulous library at Whitson Elementary in White Salmon, WA.

Pam led K-4 students for several months of study of Chinese New Year through their art.

Pam led K-4 students for several months of study of Chinese New Year through their art.

Pam Garrett, Whitson Elementary School LIbrarian

Pam Garrett, Whitson Elementary School LIbrarian

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to 15 + + + Minutes of Fame

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 15 + + + Minutes of Fame at Pierr Morgan.

meta

