Makin’ Donuts

February 25, 2013 § 2 Comments

4 am and I’m painting sprinkles in the moonlight. Thursday I hang a show of new Gouache & Ink resist paintings at Blackbird Bakery.

on the table: "With Sprinkles" 13 x 13 inches Gouache & Ink resist on 140 lb Arches watercolor paper

on the table: “With Sprinkles” 13 x 13 inches Gouache & Ink resist on 140 lb Arches watercolor paper

This technique involves Gouache (“goo-wash”), waterproof ink and the kitchen sink. It was the subject of my workshop a couple weeks ago – which went well, by the way. Thanks for all your cheers and especially The Workshoppers Six!

Here’s a little sneak peek of  “With Sprinkles”, the fourth of what I hoped would be a collection of ten paintings for the month of March. But I’ll be lucky to have five in the show. Like my longings for chocolatey lovelies, my creative vision is often much bigger than my physical capabilities. (Day 56 Sugar-Free)

Have a sweet week! – Pierr

"With Sprinkles" © Pierr Morgan 2013 - gouache & ink resist - 13 x 13 inches

“With Sprinkles” © Pierr Morgan 2013 – gouache & ink resist painting – 13 x 13 inches                   2 hours of ‘touch-up’ yields my thinking this needs Ultramarine Blue in the water to pop it a bit… so this donut ain’t quite baked yet – how I do love to ice things first!

There! ‘That’s it.

"With Sprinkles"...and Ultramarine Blue water pops

“With Sprinkles”…and Ultramarine Blue water pops

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Makin’ Donuts

  • Jan Martin says:

    Mouth watering picture. Must be hard to paint things like that and not eat sugar. I gave up sweets for Lent as usual. Wish I could be this good the rest of the year.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makin’ Donuts at Pierr Morgan.

meta

