Jake Has Eyes

January 3, 2013 § 9 Comments

JakeOilPortraitByPierrMorgan

Jake's Oil Palette - from left: Titanium White; Cobalt Blue; French Ultramarine; Alizarin Crimson; Cadmium Red Scarlet; Cadmium Yellow Pale; Yellow Ochre; Burnt Sienna

Jake’s Oil Palette – from left: Titanium White; Cobalt Blue; French Ultramarine; Alizarin Crimson; Cadmium Red Scarlet; Cadmium Yellow Pale; Yellow Ochre; Burnt Sienna

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Jake Has Eyes

  • Amy says:

    How do you do that – see that in order to do that? I am admiringly envious. Thank you for sharing your process with us… inspired too.

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Hi Amy! I had intended to take some detail photos as I painted Jake’s eyes, but I got lost in the process and before I knew it two hours had gone by. I’ll take more step-at-a-time photos for Jake’s master and try to summarize what I’m seeing and thinking as I go. Thanks for asking. My pleasure (and purpose) to inspire. So glad you’re feeling it. Happy New Year!!

  • I have just loved watching this picture come to life! It is really looking good!

    Michelle
    Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast
    http://www.virginiaplantation.wordpress.com

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Hi Michelle, thanks so much for your lovely comment! When I first decided to blog this portrait’s progress, I had no idea what a difference it would make to my own morale to allow others to watch and be open for their feedback. Flying high over here on your words! Happy New Year – Pierr

      • You are so welcome! I use to paint years ago so this is almost like doing it myself. We also have a golden too. So the subject matter caught my eye. 😉 Keep up the great work! Do you have facebook page?

      • pierrmorgan says:

        Thanks, Michelle. No Facebook…a bit too much for me to juggle. I do plan on working your cookie contest into a blog here soon. The January 31 deadline will come fast! Don’t suppose you have much time to paint these days, with your HUGE B&B project. It’s coming along nicely. Amazing story. All the best for May 1st zoning.

      • Thank you! We appreciate your letting everyone know about the cookie contest. And I can’t wait to see your finish painting!

  • Lisa Root says:

    wow!! now he has expression and life!! I’m a fan and will be
    watching them come to life!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jake Has Eyes at Pierr Morgan.

meta

