Man & Best Friend

December 13, 2012 § 6 Comments

Years ago I made a vow never to do portraits – long story – but this commission was hard to resist. Especially with a photo of the subject taken by Seattle’s amazing photographer (not biased at all…just Mom), Aaron Leitz.  

PierrAtWorkbyLynnetteSandbloom Once a week, in the early morning, I meet with my dear friend & colleague, Lynnette Sandbloom – painter, illustrator, writer, floormat artist & quilter, fabric designer – in her studio and we paint and write together for three hours of creative bliss. This morning seemed like a good time to get over the blank-canvas-fear and just go for it. So here I am fifteen minutes into The Zone. Actually, it only took one stroke of ultramarine blue to get me there. I’m always surprised by this. Every time.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Man & Best Friend

  • Nay says:

    What a great shot of you in action! Hope you are planning on keeping us posted on the progress 🙂

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Hi Nay – thanks! Er – thanks to Lynnette, the photographer. Well, now I have to keep you posted. Subliminally I must have gone public with this for that reason. Stay tuned…

  • Blank canvases always intimidate me. You’re right – it just takes starting to get going. Then I wonder why didn’t I start sooner. Every time.

    Portraits feel so intimate. I avoided them for a long time too. Looks like you’re off to a great start!

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Hi dancingantelope. Thanks much for the cheers. You’re right – portraits are intimate. Seems to be a fine line between what you see and how you like to paint and what you rightly or wrongly assume the subject expects the final piece to look like…I better get going again! Chase the brain chatter away…

  • Amy says:

    So much yearning to create! I have it too… thanks for keeping us posted Pierr dear.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Man & Best Friend at Pierr Morgan.

meta

