Post Cards from the Green

September 14, 2012 § 4 Comments

Wednesdays a Plein Air group meets at different spots around Bainbridge Island. Open to anyone for $10 each meeting, noon to 4pm, through the Bainbridge Arts & Crafts Gallery. I joined them at Winslow on the Green – a lovely grassy area with gazebo and benches, shady trees and shops around one side. I brought a packet of Canson watercolor post cards and my gouache in this nifty Grumbacher travel palette.

From top left: Azure Blue; Winsor Green; Cadmium Yellow Light; Cad Red Light; Burnt Sienna; Yellow Ochre; Titanium White; Ultramarine Blue; Rose Tyrien; Alizarin Crimson; Naples Yellow; Carthamus Pink; Chinese Orange

I like to get rid of the white asap. Chinese Orange is a great middle value color for that – also bright! I admit – but I was curious to see what the tree and church building would look like against it. Actually helped me choose my colors – the lights and darks – since I’m usually too impatient to make a value sketch first in black and white. Outside painting, I’m a diver.

4 Plein Air painter pals at work – Winslow on the Green – Bainbridge Island, WA

working with Oils – note her value study sketch

Acrylics

WISH YOU WERE HERE

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Post Cards from the Green

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Post Cards from the Green at Pierr Morgan.

meta

