Navigating Fog

August 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

container ship in fog on Admiralty Inlet

Once I asked a Puget Sound Pilot how he navigates huge ships through a fog. He told me you go real slow – and never take your eyes off the radar. And if you’re a small craft it’s best to stay put in the harbor if you can. One of these ships needs way more than a mile to stop. Good advice for life, I’d say.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Navigating Fog

  • Tele says:

    Oooh… Having done that “don’t-take-my-eyes-off-the-radar” routine a few times, this one makes me shiver a little! Really lovely shot of what can be a terrifying experience; this photo brings up a curiously mixed reaction for me. Beautiful shots, Pierr – I’m happy to have met you via Nagoonberry.

    • pierrmorgan says:

      Yes! Nagoonberry’s Fireweed post. Hi Tele! Thanks for the lovely compliment. I can understand your mixedness about fog…living the high seas to bring us King. I’m extremely grateful! You’ll notice there aren’t any shots on my blog taken from a boat.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Navigating Fog at Pierr Morgan.

meta

