Towhee’s Nest

July 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

This morning I saw the female hopping along my deck railing. I’ve only ever seen the male. This afternoon my neighbor called me over as she’d dicovered a nest in one of her planter boxes of long gone daffodils. I didn’t know the Towhee was a ground nester. Cool!

Check out the Cornell Lab of Ornithology site – allaboutbirds.org – to learn more. There are even recordings of the Towhee’s song.

Spotted Towhee eggs

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Towhee’s Nest

  • Lisa says:

    It was amazing to find this nest. I read that the female incubates
    the eggs for 12 – 15 days….wonder how long they’ve been there.
    Then the babies stay for 12 – 15 days and then leave. The
    female sneaks up on the nest…so I’ll be watching out there to
    see if she returns to it. Will check the eggs in a few days.
    Great that you got the photos.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Towhee’s Nest at Pierr Morgan.

meta

