Red-shafted Flicker

May 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

Northern Flicker - male Red-shafted Flicker

Lookin’ good! I took this on mega zoom so it’s a tad fuzzy but it’s good to see him back in the yard. Both the Yellow and the Red-shafted Flickers are lumped together as a Northern Flicker.  The Wikipedia site has a nice photo of the male and female Red-shafted on a tree trunk.  Personally I have never seen the female outside of a book. Hope to one day soon.

I can’t help it – and I mean no disrespect for this winged beauty – but his spots make me hungry for a poppyseed muffin.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Red-shafted Flicker

  • Lisa says:

    He looks so regal, surveying his territory.
    Hope I can catch a glimpse of one in my trees.
    They don’t stay long.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red-shafted Flicker at Pierr Morgan.

meta

