Cooper’s Hawk

April 9, 2014 § 4 Comments

 

CoopersHawkbyPierrMorgan

Snapped this beauty from inside my apartment. Through the glass, 60 yards away or so. I can’t believe it’s in focus. (Love my Canon PowerShot SX120 IS!! – it’s got a focus feature where you press the shutter halfway and it freezes any movement.) I had no tripod, my hand was shaking, I had the 10x zoom at full extension, so the slightest jiggle kept taking my view all over the tree away from this perfectly camouflaged Cooper’s Hawk. I never would have noticed him if he hadn’t been busy preening.

My suet feeder works great, attracting birds all day long, so when they scatter suddenly I know something’s out there watching. Cooper’s Hawks are bullet speed flyers, even into the middle of tree foliage. They’re streamlined with an extra long tail, smartly striped. Downy breast feathers of taupe and white flecks. And those sharp amber eyes…one of my favorite feathered friends for sure. Click on either photo for a larger view.

CoopersHawk2byPierrMorgan

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Cooper’s Hawk

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cooper’s Hawk at Pierr Morgan.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

